Did you know that when you delete a photo or video on your iPhone, it doesn't immediately free up photo space?
The Photos App has a feature that allows you to recover photos and videos that have been deleted in the past 30 days. This feature comes in handy if you accidentally delete, however, it also means that if you're trying to free up space on your iPhone, the photo isn't deleted immediately. Instead, it's put into an album called 'Recently Deleted', where you can retrieve it if accidentally deleted, or you can instantly delete the photo to free up space.
Here's how to instantly delete a photo or video from the 'Recently Deleted' album and recover space:
Step 1 - When viewing your photo, you can easily delete by selecting the trash can option on the bottom right.
Step 2 - To view your 'Recently Deleted' album, open the Photos App, and select 'Albums' in the bottom right'. Scroll down until you find 'Recently Deleted'.
Step 3 - You'll see the photos that are scheduled to be deleted in order by the photos that have been in the queue the longest. If you look at the red number, it will give you the number of days until the photo will be deleted.
Step 4 - Scroll to the top to see the photos you've recently moved to the trash.
Step 5 - To permanently delete, choose the "select" option in the upper right corner, then select the photos you'd like to delete right away. You'll receive a warning since this action can't be undone.
That's it! The photos and videos you delete this way will now immediately free up space on your iPhone.